Difference between revisions of "Useful websites for reference"

From Karnataka Open Educational Resources
Jump to: navigation, search
(4.How-To& DIY)
(Over 175 Free Online Educational Resources)
Line 1: Line 1:
 
== '''Over 175 Free Online Educational Resources''' ==
 
== '''Over 175 Free Online Educational Resources''' ==
'''1.Top Picks'''
+
1.Top Picks
  
'''2.Universities and Higher Education'''
+
2.Universities and Higher Education
  
'''3.General Collections'''
+
3.General Collections
  
'''4.How-to & DIY'''
+
4.How-to & DIY
  
'''5.Studying with Peers'''
+
5.Studying with Peers
  
'''6.Online Books, eBooks, & Journals'''
+
6.Online Books, eBooks, & Journals
  
'''7.Computers, Software, & Programming'''
+
7.Computers, Software, & Programming
  
'''8.Science & Mathematics'''
+
8.Science & Mathematics
  
'''9.Logic, Words, & Memory'''
+
9.Logic, Words, & Memory
  
'''10.Languages'''
+
10.Languages
  
'''11.Music'''
+
11.Music
  
'''12.History'''
+
12.History
  
'''13.Business, Finance, & Investing'''
+
13.Business, Finance, & Investing
  
'''14.Food, Nutrition, & Cooking'''
+
14.Food, Nutrition, & Cooking
  
'''15.Survival Tips'''
+
15.Survival Tips
  
'''16.Other'''
+
16.Other
 
-----------------
 
-----------------
 
=='''1.Top Picks'''==
 
=='''1.Top Picks'''==

Revision as of 10:53, 22 April 2021

Over 175 Free Online Educational Resources

1.Top Picks

2.Universities and Higher Education

3.General Collections

4.How-to & DIY

5.Studying with Peers

6.Online Books, eBooks, & Journals

7.Computers, Software, & Programming

8.Science & Mathematics

9.Logic, Words, & Memory

10.Languages

11.Music

12.History

13.Business, Finance, & Investing

14.Food, Nutrition, & Cooking

15.Survival Tips

16.Other


1.Top Picks

2.Universities and Higher Education


==

3.General Collections

Free Video Lectures – 800+ Online Courses and 19,000+ Videos from Top 30+ Universities on 35+ Categories http://freevideolectures.com/

100 Intro Open Courses on Everything You’ve Ever Wanted to Learn http://www.bestcollegesonline.com/blog/2010/05/12/100-intro-open-courses-on-everything-youve-ever-wanted-to-learn/

Annotum (formerly Google’s Knol) http://annotum.org/

IncrediCampus – Lectures and preparation/admission advice for college & graduate schools http://www.incredicampus.com/ Learners TV – Thousands of downloadable video lectures on liberal arts, science, engineering, and more http://www.learnerstv.com/

Online Education Database – 200 free online classes to learn anything http://oedb.org/library/beginning-online-learning/200-free-online-classes-to-learn-anything

Infoplease – All the knowledge you need http://www.infoplease.com/

MERLOT – Multimedia educational resource for learning and online teaching http://www.merlot.org/merlot/index.htm

Internet Archive http://www.archive.org/

101 Online Self-improvement Resources http://www.pickthebrain.com/blog/101-self-improvement-resources/


4.How-to & DIY

WikiHow – The how-to manual that you can edit http://www.wikihow.com/

How Stuff Works http://www.howstuffworks.com/

Wonder How To http://www.wonderhowto.com/categories/

Instructables http://www.instructables.com/

Make Magazine http://www.makezine.com/

How-to Help & Videos for Dummies http://www.dummies.com/

VideoJug – Get good at life http://www.videojug.com/

How to Create a Book in Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Help:Books

Let’s Make Robots http://letsmakerobots.com/


5.Studying with Peers

Open Study – Study together http://openstudy.com/

P2P University – Learn anything with your peers http://p2pu.org/en/

Study Blue – Your digital backpack http://www.studyblue.com/


6.Online Books, eBooks, & Journals

Google Books http://books.google.com/

WikiBooks – Open-content textbooks collection that anyone can edit http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Main_Page

Project Gutenberg http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page

Planet eBook – Home of free classic literature http://www.planetebook.com/about.asp

Open Book Project http://openbookproject.net/ The Free Library http://www.thefreelibrary.com/ Many Books – Ad-free eBooks http://www.manybooks.net/

WorldCat – Collections & services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide http://www.worldcat.org/

iBiblio – The public’s library and digital archive http://www.ibiblio.org/

LibriVox – Free public domain audiobooks http://librivox.org/

The Assayer – Web’s largest catalog of books whose authors have made them available for free http://theassayer.org/

Amazon.com Free eBook Collection http://www.amazon.com/b/ref=amb_link_85650291_15?ie=UTF8&node=2245146011

Scribd – Reading and publishing evolved http://www.scribd.com/

Textbook Revolution – Student-run site dedicated to increasing the use of free educational materials http://www.textbookrevolution.org/index.php/Main_Page

Directory of Open Access Journals http://www.doaj.org/

eReaderIQ – Recent non-public domain freebies & price-drop alerts http://www.ereaderiq.com/

Longform – New and classic non-fiction articles curated across the web http://longform.org/

Flatworld Knowledge – The first and largest publisher of free & open textbooks http://www.flatworldknowledge.com/


7.Computers, Software, & Programming

W3Schools – The world’s largest web development site http://www.w3schools.com/

Google Code University http://code.google.com/edu/

The New Boston – Step-by-step tutorials for multiple coding languages http://thenewboston.org/

UDacity – CS 101 http://www.udacity.com/

PHP Academy http://www.youtube.com/user/phpacademy

Better PHP http://www.youtube.com/betterphp

NetTuts+ – A large collection of coding tutorials http://nettuts.com/

Tutorial Guide – The site for all your tutorial needs http://www.tutorialguide.net/

Codecademy – Fun & interactive way to learn how to code http://www.codecademy.com/

Free Technology Academy – High quality educational material based on free software & open standards http://ftacademy.org/

Higher Computing for Everyone – Writing basic programs http://www.highercomputingforeveryone.com/

HTML 5 Please http://html5please.us/

Rails for Zombies http://railsforzombies.org/

Ruby Warrior – Open source game to teach Ruby language http://www.trybloc.com/courses/ruby-warrior/chapters/beginner#/1

Got API – Documentation search engine http://start.gotapi.com/

Lynda – Online software training videos http://www.lynda.com/

Intro to Linux http://www.reddit.com/r/Ubuntu/comments/bbnkp/ive_tinkered_in_ubuntu_before_but_its_the_primary/c0lzpwk

Stack Overflow – Q&A for professional and enthusiast programmers http://stackoverflow.com/

DZone – Fresh links for developers http://www.dzone.com/links/index.html

Photoshop & Graphics: Tutorial Hero – Photoshop & Flash tutorials http://www.tutorialhero.com/

PSD Tuts+ http://psd.tutsplus.com/

Photoshop Tutorials http://photoshoptutorials.ws/

Graphic Tutorials http://www.graphictutorials.net/

Photoshop Pack Graphic Design Resources http://www.photoshop-pack.com/

PSD FanExtra Tutorials http://psd.fanextra.com/category/tutorials/

Vandelay Design – Photoshop Tutorial Hall of Fame http://vandelaydesign.com/blog/design/photoshop-tutorial-tutorials/ Grokking the GIMP http://gimp-savvy.com/BOOK/index.html

Video CoPilot – Tutorials for VFx & motion graphics http://www.videocopilot.net/tutorials/


8.Science & Mathematics

Scirus – The most comprehensive scientific research tool on the web http://www.scirus.com/

Cite Seer X – Access scientific and scholarly knowledge http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/

getCited – Academic database, directory, & discussion forum http://www.getcited.org/

National Science Digital Library – Explore, share, create http://nsdl.org/

Science Magazine Podcasts http://www.sciencemag.org/multimedia/podcast/

National Programme on Technology Enhanced Learning – Science, Engineering, & Technology http://www.nptel.iitm.ac.in/

KQED’s Quest – Explore science, nature, and environment stories from Northern California and beyond http://science.kqed.org/quest/

Freelance Teacher – Videos on physics, chemistry, math, & biology http://www.freelance-teacher.com/videos.htm

FHSST – Free high school science texts in physical sciences & math http://fhsst.org/

cK-12 Flexbooks http://www.ck12.org/flexbook/

Paul’s Online Math Notes http://tutorial.math.lamar.edu/

Reddit’s List of Useful Online Math Resources http://www.reddit.com/r/math/comments/bqbex/lets_list_all_the_useful_free_online_math/

Math, Better Explained http://betterexplained.com/

Astronomy & Outerspace: Space Engine – Free space simulation software http://en.spaceengine.org/

Google Sky http://www.google.com/sky/

NASA for Students http://www.nasa.gov/audience/forstudents/index.html

Scale of the Universe – Interactive Flash Animation http://www.scaleoftheuniverse.com/

Statistics: Vassar Stats – Concepts and applications of inferential statistics http://faculty.vassar.edu/lowry/webtext.html

StatSoft Electronic Statistics Textbook http://www.statsoft.com/textbook/stathome.html

Connexions Collaborative Statistics http://cnx.org/content/col10522/latest/

Handbook of Biological Statistics http://udel.edu/~mcdonald/statintro.html


9.Logic, Words, & Memory

Mind Tools – Memory improvement techniques http://www.mindtools.com/memory.html

The Nizkor Project – List of logical fallacies http://www.nizkor.org/features/fallacies/index.html

Wikipedia’s List of Logical Fallacies http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fallacies

Wikipedia’s List of Figures of Speech http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Figure_of_speech

Tool Kit for Rhetorical Analysis http://grammar.about.com/od/rhetorictoolkit/Tool_Kit_for_Rhetorical_Analysis.htm

KnoWord – Expand your vocabulary http://knoword.org/

Vocabulary.com – Learn new words & explore language http://www.vocabulary.com/

Brain Workshop – A Dual N-Back Game http://brainworkshop.sourceforge.net/

Argument Mapping Tutorials http://austhink.com/reason/tutorials/

Philosophy Bites – Podcasts of top philsophers http://www.philosophybites.com/


10.Languages

Basic Composition – Reading & Writing http://www.basiccomposition.com/

BBC Languages – Beginner courses in multiple languages http://www.bbc.co.uk/languages/

Foreign Service Institute Language Courses http://fsi-language-courses.org/Content.php

Language Guide – Foreign language vocabulary, grammar, & readings http://www.languageguide.org/

eLanguage School – Free foreign language lessons online http://www.elanguageschool.net/

Free Online Language Courses via About.com http://distancelearn.about.com/od/onlinecourses/a/freelanguage.htm

DuoLingo – Learn a language for free & simultaneously translate the web http://duolingo.com/

Babel Nation – Learning languages online for free http://www.babelnation.com/

Transparent Language – Language learning software & resources in over 100 languages http://www.transparent.com/language-resources/languages.html

Survival Phrases – Learn essential travel phrases, tips, and insights http://survivalphrases.com/

Talk to Me in Korean http://talktomeinkorean.com/

Chinese Toolbox – Software for learning Chinese through reading http://www.chinesetoolbox.com/

LiveMocha – World’s largest language learning community http://www.livemocha.com/

American Sign Language (ASL) University http://www.lifeprint.com/asl101/lessons/lesson01.htm

Handspeak – Sign language http://www.handspeak.com/

Signing Savvy – Your sign language resource http://www.signingsavvy.com/index.php


11.Music

Music Theory – Lessons, exercises, & tools http://www.musictheory.net/

Ear Training & Music Theory Software http://www.trainear.com/

Basic Music Theory http://www.howmusicworks.org/

About.com Music Education – Music theory http://musiced.about.com/od/musictheory/u/musiced_musictheory.htm

Teoria – Music Theory Web http://teoria.com/

Ultimate Guitar – Lessons, techniques, & styles http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/lessons/

Justin Guitar – The best guitar instruction on the web http://www.justinguitar.com/

Chorder – Chord fingering and guitar resources http://www.chorder.com/guitar-chords/

Funk University – Assembly of Music’s Finest http://www.thefunkuniversity.com/

Play Bass Now – Lessons, licks, and low notes http://playbassnow.com/ How to Play Piano http://www.howtoplaypiano.ca/


=

12.History

Teacher Resources – Western Civilization (52 half-hour video programs) http://www.learner.org/resources/series58.html

Metropolitan Museum of Art – Timeline of Art History http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/


=

13.Business, Finance, & Investing

Investopedia http://www.investopedia.com/

Google Advisor https://www.google.com/advisor/home

Google Finance http://www.google.com/finance

MarketWatch by WSJ http://www.marketwatch.com/

Main Street – Business & financial headlines & advice http://www.mainstreet.com/


14.Food, Nutrition, & Cooking

Good Eats Fan Page http://www.goodeatsfanpage.com/GEFP/index.htm

Jamie’s Home Cooking Skills http://www.jamieshomecookingskills.com/

Chef Todd Mohr’s Web Cooking Classes (YouTube) http://www.youtube.com/user/ChefToddMohr

Nutrition Data – Self nutrition data; know what you eat http://www.nutritiondata.com/

Nutrition.gov – Smart nutrition & practical tips http://www.nutrition.gov/

Choose My Plate via USDA http://www.choosemyplate.gov/

The World’s Healthiest Foods http://whfoods.org/foodstoc.php

Calorie King http://www.calorieking.com/

Start Making Choices – Simple ideas for living healthier on a budget http://www.startmakingchoices.com/index.jsp

Eat Right Nutrition Tips http://www.eatright.org/Public/content.aspx?id=206


15.Survival Tips

Off Grid Survival – Wilderness and urban survival skills http://offgridsurvival.com/

Backwoods Magazine – Self reliance and self sufficiency http://www.backwoodshome.com/index.html

Survival Topics – Your online survival kit http://www.survivaltopics.com/

Wilderness Survival – Free info covering all aspects of survival http://www.wilderness-survival.net/

Discovery’s Worst-Case Scenario Video Clips http://dsc.discovery.com/videos/worst-case-scenario/


16.Other

Advanced Yoga Practices – Directory for Main Lessons http://www.aypsite.com/MainDirectory.html

Creative Live – A live, worldwide creative classroom http://www.creativelive.com/