Useful websites for reference

From Karnataka Open Educational Resources
Revision as of 13:05, 23 April 2021 by Illaz (talk | contribs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Over 175 Free Online Educational Resources


Top Picks

  1. Khan Academy http://www.khanacademy.org/
  2. Future Learn - Open Online Courses - https://www.futurelearn.com/info/blog/free-online-courses-with-certifications-september-2020
  3. Academic Earth – Online courses from the world’s top scholars http://academicearth.org/
  4. TED – Technology, Entertainment, & Design http://www.ted.com/
  5. MIT Open CourseWare http://ocw.mit.edu/courses/
  6. Stanford Engineering Everywhere http://see.stanford.edu/see/courses.aspx
  7. Open Yale Courses http://oyc.yale.edu/
  8. About U. – Collection of free online courses from About.com http://u.about.com/
  9. Wikiversity http://en.wikiversity.org/wiki/Wikiversity:Main_Page
  10. YouTube EDU http://www.youtube.com/education?b=400
  11. The Open University – Study at the OU http://www3.open.ac.uk/study/ http://openlearn.open.ac.uk/
  12. University of the People http://www.uopeople.org
  13. University of Reddit http://ureddit.com/
  14. Open Culture – The best free cultural & educational media on the web http://openculture.com/
  15. VideoLectures – Exchange ideas & share knowledge http://videolectures.net/
  16. CosmoLearning – Free educational website with thousands of courses & documentaries http://www.cosmolearning.com/

Universities and Higher Education

  1. Capilano University http://ocw.capilanou.ca/
  2. Carnegie Mellon Open Learning Initiative http://oli.web.cmu.edu/openlearning/
  3. Delft University of Technology http://ocw.tudelft.nl/courses/
  4. Rice University Connexions – A place to view and share educational modules http://cnx.org/
  5. Stanford on iTunes U – Stanford-related digital audio content http://itunes.stanford.edu/content/overview.html
  6. UC Irvine http://ocw.uci.edu/
  7. UC San Diego Podcasts http://podcast.ucsd.edu/
  8. University of Chicago’s Mind Online – Thought-provoking samples of critical thinking & debate http://news.uchicago.edu/multimedia
  9. University of Colorado, Colorado Springs http://www.uccs.edu/~math/vidarchive.html
  10. University of Massachusetts http://ocw.umb.edu/
  11. University of Michigan http://open.umich.edu/education
  12. University of Southern Queensland http://ocw.usq.edu.au/ University of Sydney – Podcast episodes http://sydney.edu.au/podcasts/2011.php
  13. University of Virginia – Podcasts & webcasts http://www.virginia.edu/uvapodcast/
  14. University of Washington – Computer Science & Engineering http://www.cs.washington.edu/education/course-webs.html Utah Valley University – Online courses & open educational resources http://open.uvu.edu/
  15. YouTube Channels: Stanford http://www.youtube.com/stanford
  16. UC Berkeley http://www.youtube.com/user/UCBerkeley
  17. University of New South Wales http://www.youtube.com/user/UNSWelearning
  18. Yale http://www.youtube.com/yalecourses
  19. Lecture Fox – Free university lectures http://lecturefox.com/
  20. More Open Courses: Open Courseware Consortium http://www.ocwconsortium.org/
  21. Harvard Extension School – Computer Science & Technology http://computerscience1.tv/2010/spring/
  22. Johns Hopkins University http://ocw.jhsph.edu/
  23. Kaplan University http://ocw.kaplan.edu/
  24. Notre Dame http://ocw.nd.edu/
  25. Princeton’s Institute for Advanced Study http://video.ias.edu/all
  26. Tufts http://ocw.tufts.edu/ Utah State http://ocw.usu.edu/
  27. Google in Education http://www.google.com/edu/index.html
  28. ArsDigita University – Computer science and math lectures http://aduni.org/courses/
  29. UC Berkeley Webcast – Central service for online video & audio for learners around the globe http://webcast.berkeley.edu/
  30. UC Berkeley Video Courses – Free education online http://education.jimmyr.com/

General Collections

  1. Free Video Lectures – 800+ Online Courses and 19,000+ Videos from Top 30+ Universities on 35+ Categories 100http://freevideolectures.com/
  2. Intro Open Courses on Everything You’ve Ever Wanted to Learn http://www.bestcollegesonline.com/blog/2010/05/12/100-intro-open-courses-on-everything-youve-ever-wanted-to-learn/
  3. Annotum (formerly Google’s Knol) http://annotum.org/
  4. IncrediCampus – Lectures and preparation/admission advice for college & graduate schools http://www.incredicampus.com/ Learners TV – Thousands of downloadable video lectures on liberal arts, science, engineering, and more http://www.learnerstv.com/
  5. Online Education Database – 200 free online classes to learn anything http://oedb.org/library/beginning-online-learning/200-free-online-classes-to-learn-anything
  6. Infoplease – All the knowledge you need http://www.infoplease.com/
  7. MERLOT – Multimedia educational resource for learning and online teaching http://www.merlot.org/merlot/index.htm
  8. Internet Archive http://www.archive.org/
  9. 101 Online Self-improvement Resources http://www.pickthebrain.com/blog/101-self-improvement-resources/

How-to & DIY

  1. WikiHow – The how-to manual that you can edit http://www.wikihow.com/
  2. How Stuff Works http://www.howstuffworks.com/
  3. Wonder How To http://www.wonderhowto.com/categories/
  4. Instructables http://www.instructables.com/
  5. Make Magazine http://www.makezine.com/
  6. How-to Help & Videos for Dummies http://www.dummies.com/
  7. VideoJug – Get good at life http://www.videojug.com/
  8. How to Create a Book in Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Help:Books
  9. Let’s Make Robots http://letsmakerobots.com/

Studying with Peers

  1. Open Study – Study together http://openstudy.com/
  2. P2P University – Learn anything with your peers http://p2pu.org/en/
  3. Study Blue – Your digital backpack http://www.studyblue.com/

Online Books, eBooks, & Journals

  1. Google Books http://books.google.com/
  2. WikiBooks – Open-content textbooks collection that anyone can edit http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Main_Page
  3. Project Gutenberg http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page
  4. Planet eBook – Home of free classic literature http://www.planetebook.com/about.asp
  5. Open Book Project http://openbookproject.net/ The Free Library http://www.thefreelibrary.com/ Many Books – Ad-free eBooks http://www.manybooks.net/
  6. WorldCat – Collections & services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide http://www.worldcat.org/
  7. iBiblio – The public’s library and digital archive http://www.ibiblio.org/
  8. LibriVox – Free public domain audiobooks http://librivox.org/
  9. The Assayer – Web’s largest catalog of books whose authors have made them available for free http://theassayer.org/
  10. Amazon.com Free eBook Collection http://www.amazon.com/b/ref=amb_link_85650291_15?ie=UTF8&node=2245146011
  11. Scribd – Reading and publishing evolved http://www.scribd.com/
  12. Textbook Revolution – Student-run site dedicated to increasing the use of free educational materials http://www.textbookrevolution.org/index.php/Main_Page
  13. Directory of Open Access Journals http://www.doaj.org/
  14. eReaderIQ – Recent non-public domain freebies & price-drop alerts http://www.ereaderiq.com/
  15. Longform – New and classic non-fiction articles curated across the web http://longform.org/
  16. Flatworld Knowledge – The first and largest publisher of free & open textbooks http://www.flatworldknowledge.com/

Computers, Software, & Programming

  1. W3Schools – The world’s largest web development site http://www.w3schools.com/
  2. Google Code University http://code.google.com/edu/
  3. The New Boston – Step-by-step tutorials for multiple coding languages http://thenewboston.org/
  4. UDacity – CS 101 http://www.udacity.com/
  5. PHP Academy http://www.youtube.com/user/phpacademy
  6. Better PHP http://www.youtube.com/betterphp
  7. NetTuts+ – A large collection of coding tutorials http://nettuts.com/
  8. Tutorial Guide – The site for all your tutorial needs http://www.tutorialguide.net/
  9. Codecademy – Fun & interactive way to learn how to code http://www.codecademy.com/
  10. Free Technology Academy – High quality educational material based on free software & open standards http://ftacademy.org/
  11. Higher Computing for Everyone – Writing basic programs http://www.highercomputingforeveryone.com/
  12. HTML 5 Please http://html5please.us/
  13. Rails for Zombies http://railsforzombies.org/
  14. Ruby Warrior – Open source game to teach Ruby language http://www.trybloc.com/courses/ruby-warrior/chapters/beginner#/1
  15. Got API – Documentation search engine http://start.gotapi.com/
  16. Lynda – Online software training videos http://www.lynda.com/
  17. Intro to Linux http://www.reddit.com/r/Ubuntu/comments/bbnkp/ive_tinkered_in_ubuntu_before_but_its_the_primary/c0lzpwk
  18. Stack Overflow – Q&A for professional and enthusiast programmers http://stackoverflow.com/
  19. DZone – Fresh links for developers http://www.dzone.com/links/index.html
  20. Photoshop & Graphics: Tutorial Hero – Photoshop & Flash tutorials http://www.tutorialhero.com/
  21. PSD Tuts+ http://psd.tutsplus.com/
  22. Photoshop Tutorials http://photoshoptutorials.ws/
  23. Graphic Tutorials http://www.graphictutorials.net/
  24. Photoshop Pack Graphic Design Resources http://www.photoshop-pack.com/
  25. PSD FanExtra Tutorials http://psd.fanextra.com/category/tutorials/
  26. Vandelay Design – Photoshop Tutorial Hall of Fame http://vandelaydesign.com/blog/design/photoshop-tutorial-tutorials/ Grokking the GIMP http://gimp-savvy.com/BOOK/index.html
  27. Video CoPilot – Tutorials for VFx & motion graphics http://www.videocopilot.net/tutorials/

Science & Mathematics

  1. Scirus – The most comprehensive scientific research tool on the web http://www.scirus.com/
  2. Cite Seer X – Access scientific and scholarly knowledge http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/
  3. getCited – Academic database, directory, & discussion forum http://www.getcited.org/
  4. National Science Digital Library – Explore, share, create http://nsdl.org/
  5. Science Magazine Podcasts http://www.sciencemag.org/multimedia/podcast/
  6. National Programme on Technology Enhanced Learning – Science, Engineering, & Technology http://www.nptel.iitm.ac.in/
  7. KQED’s Quest – Explore science, nature, and environment stories from Northern California and beyond http://science.kqed.org/quest/
  8. Freelance Teacher – Videos on physics, chemistry, math, & biology http://www.freelance-teacher.com/videos.htm
  9. FHSST – Free high school science texts in physical sciences & math http://fhsst.org/
  10. cK-12 Flexbooks http://www.ck12.org/flexbook/
  11. Paul’s Online Math Notes http://tutorial.math.lamar.edu/
  12. Reddit’s List of Useful Online Math Resources http://www.reddit.com/r/math/comments/bqbex/lets_list_all_the_useful_free_online_math/
  13. Math, Better Explained http://betterexplained.com/
  14. Astronomy & Outerspace: Space Engine – Free space simulation software http://en.spaceengine.org/
  15. Google Sky http://www.google.com/sky/
  16. NASA for Students http://www.nasa.gov/audience/forstudents/index.html
  17. Scale of the Universe – Interactive Flash Animation http://www.scaleoftheuniverse.com/
  18. Statistics: Vassar Stats – Concepts and applications of inferential statistics http://faculty.vassar.edu/lowry/webtext.html
  19. StatSoft Electronic Statistics Textbook http://www.statsoft.com/textbook/stathome.html
  20. Connexions Collaborative Statistics http://cnx.org/content/col10522/latest/
  21. Handbook of Biological Statistics http://udel.edu/~mcdonald/statintro.html

Logic, Words, & Memory

  1. Mind Tools – Memory improvement techniques http://www.mindtools.com/memory.html
  2. The Nizkor Project – List of logical fallacies http://www.nizkor.org/features/fallacies/index.html
  3. Wikipedia’s List of Logical Fallacies http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fallacies
  4. Wikipedia’s List of Figures of Speech http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Figure_of_speech
  5. Tool Kit for Rhetorical Analysis http://grammar.about.com/od/rhetorictoolkit/Tool_Kit_for_Rhetorical_Analysis.htm
  6. KnoWord – Expand your vocabulary http://knoword.org/
  7. Vocabulary.com – Learn new words & explore language http://www.vocabulary.com/
  8. Brain Workshop – A Dual N-Back Game http://brainworkshop.sourceforge.net/
  9. Argument Mapping Tutorials http://austhink.com/reason/tutorials/
  10. Philosophy Bites – Podcasts of top philsophers http://www.philosophybites.com/

Languages

  1. Basic Composition – Reading & Writing http://www.basiccomposition.com/
  2. BBC Languages – Beginner courses in multiple languages http://www.bbc.co.uk/languages/
  3. Foreign Service Institute Language Courses http://fsi-language-courses.org/Content.php
  4. Language Guide – Foreign language vocabulary, grammar, & readings http://www.languageguide.org/
  5. eLanguage School – Free foreign language lessons online http://www.elanguageschool.net/
  6. Free Online Language Courses via About.com http://distancelearn.about.com/od/onlinecourses/a/freelanguage.htm
  7. DuoLingo – Learn a language for free & simultaneously translate the web http://duolingo.com/
  8. Babel Nation – Learning languages online for free http://www.babelnation.com/
  9. Transparent Language – Language learning software & resources in over 100 languages http://www.transparent.com/language-resources/languages.html
  10. Survival Phrases – Learn essential travel phrases, tips, and insights http://survivalphrases.com/
  11. Talk to Me in Korean http://talktomeinkorean.com/
  12. Chinese Toolbox – Software for learning Chinese through reading http://www.chinesetoolbox.com/
  13. LiveMocha – World’s largest language learning community http://www.livemocha.com/
  14. American Sign Language (ASL) University http://www.lifeprint.com/asl101/lessons/lesson01.htm
  15. Handspeak – Sign language http://www.handspeak.com/
  16. Signing Savvy – Your sign language resource http://www.signingsavvy.com/index.php

Music

  1. Music Theory – Lessons, exercises, & tools http://www.musictheory.net/
  2. Ear Training & Music Theory Software http://www.trainear.com/
  3. Basic Music Theory http://www.howmusicworks.org/
  4. About.com Music Education – Music theory http://musiced.about.com/od/musictheory/u/musiced_musictheory.htm
  5. Teoria – Music Theory Web http://teoria.com/
  6. Ultimate Guitar – Lessons, techniques, & styles http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/lessons/
  7. Justin Guitar – The best guitar instruction on the web http://www.justinguitar.com/
  8. Chorder – Chord fingering and guitar resources http://www.chorder.com/guitar-chords/
  9. Funk University – Assembly of Music’s Finest http://www.thefunkuniversity.com/
  10. Play Bass Now – Lessons, licks, and low notes http://playbassnow.com/
  11. How to Play Piano http://www.howtoplaypiano.ca/

History

  1. Teacher Resources – Western Civilization (52 half-hour video programs) http://www.learner.org/resources/series58.html
  2. Metropolitan Museum of Art – Timeline of Art History http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/

Business, Finance, & Investing

  1. Investopedia http://www.investopedia.com/
  2. Google Advisor https://www.google.com/advisor/home
  3. Google Finance http://www.google.com/finance
  4. MarketWatch by WSJ http://www.marketwatch.com/
  5. Main Street – Business & financial headlines & advice http://www.mainstreet.com/

Food, Nutrition, & Cooking

  1. Good Eats Fan Page http://www.goodeatsfanpage.com/GEFP/index.htm
  2. Jamie’s Home Cooking Skills http://www.jamieshomecookingskills.com/
  3. Chef Todd Mohr’s Web Cooking Classes (YouTube) http://www.youtube.com/user/ChefToddMohr
  4. Nutrition Data – Self nutrition data; know what you eat http://www.nutritiondata.com/
  5. Nutrition.gov – Smart nutrition & practical tips http://www.nutrition.gov/
  6. Choose My Plate via USDA http://www.choosemyplate.gov/
  7. The World’s Healthiest Foods http://whfoods.org/foodstoc.php
  8. Calorie King http://www.calorieking.com/
  9. Start Making Choices – Simple ideas for living healthier on a budget http://www.startmakingchoices.com/index.jsp
  10. Eat Right Nutrition Tips http://www.eatright.org/Public/content.aspx?id=206

Survival Tips

  1. Off Grid Survival – Wilderness and urban survival skills http://offgridsurvival.com/
  2. Backwoods Magazine – Self reliance and self sufficiency http://www.backwoodshome.com/index.html
  3. Survival Topics – Your online survival kit http://www.survivaltopics.com/
  4. Wilderness Survival – Free info covering all aspects of survival http://www.wilderness-survival.net/
  5. Discovery’s Worst-Case Scenario Video Clips http://dsc.discovery.com/videos/worst-case-scenario/

Other

  1. Advanced Yoga Practices – Directory for Main Lessons http://www.aypsite.com/MainDirectory.html
  2. Creative Live – A live, worldwide creative classroom http://www.creativelive.com/